Elections & Voting Information

June 14th Election Results

State Results-2022 page 1

State Results-2022 page 2

RSU 26 Results-2022

Maine Voter Registration Application:    Fillable PDF   -    Word version

Instructions for completing the Maine Voter Registration Application (links to downloadable Word file) 

After completing and signing the voter registration application, voters are encouraged to mail it to the Town Office, 59 Main Street, Orono ME 04473, or drop in the mailbox outside the Town Office.

Description of the 6/14/2022 State Primary & Referendum Election 

Primary Elections determine each qualified party’s nomination of candidates for federal offices and State and County offices.  Party candidates who are elected at the Primary qualify to appear on the November General Election ballot. 
Offices included in the 2022 Primary Election are Governor, Representative to Congress (both districts), all 35 State Senate districts, all 151 State Representative districts, and the following county offices, which vary depending on the county: Judge of Probate, Register of Probate, County Treasurer, Register of Deeds, Sheriff, District Attorney and County Commissioner. 
In order to qualify for the Primary Election ballot, party candidates must gather a specified number of signatures on primary nomination petitions between January 1, 2022 and March 15, 2022 and submit these petitions to the Secretary of State’s Division of Elections by 5:00 p.m. on March 15, 2022. Nonparty candidates gain access directly to the General Election ballot by gathering a specified number of signatures on nonparty nomination petitions between January 1, 2022 and June 1, 2022 and must submit these petitions to the Division of Elections by 5:00 pm on June 1, 2022.

Maine Political Parties 

Maine currently has four qualified parties: Democratic, Green Independent, Libertarian and Republican that may participate in primary elections. (Note: although some unenrolled candidates choose to designate themselves as “Independent,” there is no “Independent” party in Maine.)

Absentee ballots may be requested by the following methods:

  1. To request an absentee ballot using the State's online service, please click here
  2. Call the Orono Town Office at 866-2556 to have an absentee ballot application mailed to you 
  3. Download and print/fill out this form here and mail it to the Town Office, 59 Main Street, Orono ME 04473, or drop in the mailbox outside the Town Office
  4. Visit the Town Clerk’s office in-person

Please do not delay – get your absentee ballots today! Please allow 7-10 days for processing if using the mail. Absentee ballots must be received at the Clerk’s Office NO LATER THAN 8:00 PM ON ELECTION NIGHT (June 14th) to be processed.

Already requested your ballot? Check its status here!

Absentee Voting Guide from the Maine Secretary of State’s Website

Interested in volunteering for the Town of Orono for future elections?
Fill out the form at this link and return it to the mail slot outside the Town Office at 59 Main Street or email it to Town Clerk Shelly Crosby
Visit the Maine Election Worker Recruitment webpage for more information about the qualifications, duties and benefits of helping your town at the polls on Election Day.

Town of Orono Street List


250' Electioneering Boundaries for Town of Orono Polling Places

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15
  16. 16
  17. 17
  18. 18
  19. 19