2021 Elections & Voting Information

Annual Municipal Election is Tuesday, March 9th, 2021, 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

For the Town of Orono, in-person voting will take place at the Orono Town Council Chambers, 59 Main Street, 7AM until 8PM. 

Voters may cast an absentee ballot instead of voting in person. To minimize interaction with others during this public health pandemic (COVID-19), some voters may prefer voting by absentee ballot. Casting an absentee ballot is convenient and secure. 

Absentee ballots may be requested in writing, by phone, online, or in person up to and including the day of the election, without specifying a reason.  However, if you are asking to receive your ballot by mail, please request it early enough to allow for postal mail delivery time – both to receive it and return it (2-5 days each way).

Absentee Ballots will be available beginning on Monday, February 8th

  • You can download an absentee ballot application here.

  • You can request an absentee ballot by calling the Town Office at 207-866-2556 

  • The Clerk's office will be hosting in-person absentee voting on the following dates and times in Council Chambers: Thursday Feb. 25th from 8:00AM - 5:00PM, and Thursday, March 4th from 8:00AM to 5:00PM

  • Ballots must be returned to the municipal clerk no later than 8:00 pm on Election Day.

  • Ballot return envelopes require 70 cents postage, please remember to add required postage when mailing back your ballot.

For additional absentee voting information go to: https://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/elec/voter-info/absenteeguide.html

March 9th 2021 Town of Orono Annual Municipal Election List of Candidates

Nomination papers were released on Monday, November 30th and were due back on Thursday, January 7th. All Candidates had at least 25 signatures and met minimum qualification requirements, as specified under the Charter and Title 21a.

Town Council 3 seats - 3 YR terms 

Ashley M. Case
Daniel R. LaPointe
Alyce K. Lew
Laura H. Mitchell
Cheryl A. Robertson
Geoffrey H. Wingard
Khawla Abu Sheikh Wise 

Town Council Limited Vacancy 1 seat - 2 YR term 

Thomas H. Perry
Anastasia S. Stanek 

RSU No. 26 School Board 2 seats – 3 YR terms 

Mark D. Brewer
Brian J. McGill 

RSU No. 26 School Board Limited Vacancy 1 seat -1 YR term 

Leo C. Kenney
Patrick L. Rowe

Interested in volunteering for the Town of Orono for the upcoming Election?
Fill out the form at this link and return it to the mail slot outside the Town Office at 59 Main Street or email it to Town Clerk Shelly Crosby

Orono Street List


250' Electioneering Boundaries for Town of Orono Polling Places

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15
  16. 16
  17. 17
  18. 18
  19. 19