DOG LICENSES AVAILABLE NOW
Dog licenses expire on December 31st of each year. Additional late fees of $25 per dog are imposed by the State of Maine and may not be waived.
To receive the license, dog owners must show:
- State of Maine rabies certificate or equivalent*
- spay or neuter certificate*
- veterinarian’s name and phone number (if this information isn’t already on file at the Clerk’s office).
* Rabies/Spay-Neuter Certificate issued from another US state must include: dates of services rendered with a rabies vaccination expiration, serial number of medication used, and dog description to verify proper animal
The cost to register is $6.00 for an altered dog, $11.00 for an unaltered one.
You may visit the Town Office to register your pup, or: to register your dog online visit the Dog Licensing page on the Maine Division of Animal and Plant Life site
Maine law requires that all dogs six months of age or older be licensed in the municipality where their owner resides. Dog licensing ensures rabies vaccination which protects the health of your pet and anyone who may come in contact with the animal.
Residents should also know that by licensing their dog they are directly fighting animal cruelty and abuse. Most people do not realize that up to 90% of their dog license fees go directly to the Maine Animal Welfare Program. Dog license fees account for 95% of the State Animal Welfare Program’s entire funding and without these fees, the State would be unable to protect the animals of this state.
- The fee is $6.00 for a spayed or neutered dog and $11.00 for an unaltered dog.
- Proof of a valid rabies vaccination is required.
- All dogs must be licensed before January 31 of the upcoming year to avoid a $25 penalty.